White on Transparent 2.png

ABOUT THE LESSER ANTILLES

The Lesser Antilles
The Lesser Antilles

The Lesser Antilles stretch from north to south, from the British Virgin Islands to Tobago.

The north Atlantic ocean
The north Atlantic ocean

The Lesser Antilles are in the southwest of the North Atlantic.

The Caribbean
The Caribbean

The Lesser Antilles is only a small part of the Caribbean.

1/1

The Lesser Antilles

It is an archipelago located to the east and southeast of the Caribbean Sea and composed of the islands of the southern part of the Caribbean arc from Puerto Rico and the Anegada pit in the northwest to the sub - South American continent . The Lesser Antilles are generally defined as opposed to the Greater Antilles . The highest peak is the Soufriere (1467 meters) which is located in Guadeloupe . The deepest oceanic trench in the Atlantic (9,210 meters) is located on the northern edge of the US Virgin Islands . There is a sudden rise in the seabed, which has the effect of generating a sometimes disorderly sea (source Wikipedia).

Puerto Rico trench. We see the northern islands of the Lesser Antilles.
Montserrat volcano

Volcanism

Active volcanism can be observed on certain islands in the form of hot water or the release of sulfurous gases such as Saba , Saint-Eustache , Dominica , Nevis , Martinique , etc. From time to time, one of the volcanoes erupts. The type of volcanoes in the Antilles is said to be Pelean, that is to say explosive, which can produce fiery clouds capable of devastating everything in its path. In 1995 the volcano on Montserrat Island woke up completely destroying the city of Plymouth and its airport. Half of the population had to be evacuated. Skipper Jules offers to visit the volcanic islands by catamaran and explore in detail the volcanoes and craters.

Ethnology

The population is of black African origin, more or less mixed, of Europeans and Caribbean Indians , large communities originating in India and Pakistan , Lebanon , China. In general, the inhabitants claim to be of a “ Creole ” inter-island cultural community, but each remains very marked by its colonial culture of origin. Because of the history of colonization , the languages ​​spoken in these islands are: English , French , Dutch , Spanish and several Creoles based on these languages ​​which have developed locally.

 

Weather

The warm tropical climate is pleasantly softened by the trade winds that blow from the east and are fairly constant throughout the year to the delight of sailors. Inland, the climate is a little warmer but cools with altitude, as does the increasing humidity. There are two types of seasons:

The dry and cool season (December to June). The wet and hot season (June to December) known as the cyclonic period .

The Trade Winds. Credit Initiatives-coeur

The climate is ideal for sailing all year round. The wind is strong from December to April and weakens somewhat during the cyclonic period. The heat increases sharply and the sea becomes flat accompanied by exceptional visibility. Strong rainy squalls can then burst to cool temperatures. The infographic above explains the creation of the trade winds blowing from the east and which make north-south navigation easy and pleasant (Credit Initiatives-Coeur.fr). The climate of the Lesser Antilles is warm all year round and life is very pleasant.

GEOGRAPHIE

1/1

Les Petites Antilles

C'est un archipel situé à l'est et au sud-est de la mer des Caraïbes et composé des îles de la partie méridionale de l'arc antillais depuis Porto Rico et la fosse d'Anegada au nord-ouest jusqu'au sous-continent sud-américainOn définit généralement les Petites Antilles par opposition aux Grandes AntillesLe sommet le plus élevé est la Soufrière (1467 mètres) qui se trouve en GuadeloupeLa fosse océanique la plus profonde de l'Atlantique (9210 mètres) est située en bordure nord des Îles Vierges américaines. On y observe une brusque remontée des fonds, ce qui a pour effet de générer une mer parfois désordonnée (source wikipédia).

Fosse sous-marine de Porto Rico. On y voit les îles du nord des Petites Antilles.
Volcan de Montserrat

Volcanisme

Du volcanisme actif est observable sur certaines îles sous forme d'eaux chaudes ou de dégagement de gaz sulfureux tel sur SabaSaint-Eustache, DominiqueNevisMartinique, etc. De temps à autre, un des volcans entre en éruption. Le type de volcans des Antilles est dit péléen c’est-à-dire explosif qui peut produire des nuées ardentes capables de tout dévaster sur son passage. En 1995 le volcan de l'île Montserrat s'est réveillé détruisant totalement la ville de Plymouth et son aéroport. La moitié de la population a dû être évacuée. Skipper Jules propose de visiter les îles volcaniques en catamaran et d'explorer en détail les volcans et cratères.

Ethnologie

La population est d'origine noire africaine plus ou moins métissée d'Européens et d'Amérindiens Caraïbes, de grosses communautés originaires d'Inde et Pakistan, du Liban, de ChineEn général, les habitants se revendiquent d'une communauté culturelle inter-îles «créole» mais chacun reste très marqué par sa culture coloniale d'origine. En raison de l'histoire de la colonisation, les langues parlées dans ces îles sont : l'anglais, le français, le néerlandais, l'espagnol et plusieurs créoles basés sur ces langues qui se sont développés localement.

Climat

Le chaud climat tropical est agréablement adouci par les vents alizés qui soufflent de l'est et sont assez constants tout au long de l'année au plus grand bonheur des navigateurs. À l'intérieur des terres, le climat est un peu plus chaud mais se rafraîchit avec l'altitude, tout comme l'humidité qui augmente aussi. On y remarque deux types de saisons :

La saison sèche et fraîche (décembre à juin) dite période du carême. La saison humide et chaude (juin à décembre) dite période cyclonique.

Les vent Alizés. Crédit Initiatives-coeur

Le climat est idéal pour naviguer toute l'année. Le vent est soutenu de décembre à avril et faiblit quelque peu en période cyclonique. La chaleur augmente fortement et la mer devient plate accompagnée d'une visibilité exceptionnelle. De forts grains pluvieux peuvent alors éclater pour rafraîchir les températures. L'infographie ci-dessus explique la création des Alizés soufflant de l'est et qui rendent la navigation nord-sud facile et plaisante (crédit Initiatives-Coeur.fr). Le climat des Petites Antilles est chaud toute l'année et la vie est y très agréable.

(c) 2020 Skipper Jules

Suivez notre actu :

  • Skipper Jules
  • Skipper Jules
Logo Tripadvisor
Payer un acompte